Pellet Fan

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Pellet Fan!

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 ... 18   Go Down

Author Topic: The Dessert Thread...  (Read 22557 times)

Bentley

• Administrator
  • Your at the point in life...one pit is enough...
  • Mayberry
The Dessert Thread...
« on: June 30, 2018, 06:53:38 PM »

Hey, I figured if it was good enough for burgers, pizza and sandwiches...

I am not  big dessert person myself...But in the AA meetings I go to it has always been a way to celebrate another year of sobriety.  I go to a meeting where the person who usually makes the cakes is getting ready to celebrate either 8 or 9 years, so I am going to make something.  I tried last week to make a Dobos Tort.  I like the look of it as I searched the internet.  The one I made last week was a complete failure.  I have limited baking knowledge, strong in some areas, weak in others.  This recipe calls for egg whites, I foolishly thought I could get away with a very small amount of yolk in the whites and I was severely punished for thinking that, it was like a Very, very bad pancake...I digress!

So I decide today to work on just the cake portion of the tort.  Came out much better.  Kristin had some pineapple and strawberries and was going to make so nonsensical, made up dessert.  So I told her to let me have the filling she was working on to put between my layers of cake to see how this thing will look when we go with a 14 layer!  Below is an 8 layer version!

Not sure if I will stick with this cake recipe or just go back to a basic cake mix...and still not decided on filling...but getting closer on the cake portion made me happy!

« Last Edit: November 11, 2021, 09:14:28 PM by Bentley »
"‘One who puts on his armor should not boast like one who takes it off.’”

Kristin Meredith

• Administrator
  • You are starting to smell like smoke.
Re: Who likes Dessert?