Pellet Fan

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Pellet Fan!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Flavoured or Compound Butters  (Read 656 times)

Canadian John

• Friends Want you to cook way to much.
  • HAPPY COOKING, Canadian John
Flavoured or Compound Butters
« on: January 04, 2018, 10:17:42 AM »

- Do you or have you used them?

- If yes, what is your favourite?

Darwin

• Thinkin about Renouncing Charcoal.
  • Phoenix, AZ
Re: Flavoured or Compound Butters
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2018, 11:35:55 AM »

I used them decades ago when I was cooking for a living.  Minced shallots, garlic, herbs, spices, wines or spirits to fit the finished dish.  I think a compound butter can add a nice bit of flavour to most anything.  Sadly things get lost in the freezer now and they are no longer on my must have list.

Trooper

• Grand Haven, MI
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2018, 02:58:00 PM »

OK You asked for it.
Several years ago I had a lengthy topic on the PH forum entitled Bone Marrow Butter

Believe me, this is good stuff. And it's relatively easy to make. I usually have a quantity of it in the freezer that has been rolled and wrapped. Great for spreading on steaks, gobbing on mashed potatoes or whatever.

It has been nicknamed "God's Butter"
Search Google for some info under that nickname.

Here is a copy and paste from my recipe files for "God's Butter"

1 ½ pounds of beef femur bones (readily available from just about any butcher)
6 oz. butter, softened
1 scallion, (green onion) thinly sliced
Pinch of salt
Pinch of freshly cracked black pepper

In a preheated 400° pellet grill, roast marrow bones until marrow is soft (with a consistence similar to custard (20 minutes or so). Remove from pellet grill and scoop out all of the soft marrow, and reserve all drippings. A small baby soon or letter opener will work out well.