Pages:
Actions
  • #16 by Woody on 22 Apr 2018
  • Thanks Slaga.  Today I'm doing some pork belly at 225,  This is my first time using the smoker under 275 and i can see after 5 hours that it's using much less than before.  Same brand of pellets but my outdoor temp is 60 degrees. 
  • #17 by bregent on 23 Apr 2018
  • >I'll experiment more with other brands of pellets and try to do a more scientific study with a scale.

I'd be surprised if you see much with other pellets. All pellets/wood species have roughly the same BTU, and the Memphis controller does a great job burning the right amount to keep a constant temp.
  • #18 by Canadian John on 23 Apr 2018

•  Damp pellets don't give off as much heat as some of the energy is used to rid them of water by converting the water to steam..An other variable is ambients and wind, even in the mighty Memphis.
  • #19 by Woody on 23 Apr 2018
  • For what it's worth, yesterday I did an 8 hour smoke at 225 and it used less than 1lb/hr.  As I said above, the outdoor temp was about 60.  I must make the assumption that my earlier consumption rate of 2lbs/hr is a result of cooler ambient temps and higher smoker temps(Duh). 

Bottom line...my Memphis Pro used 2lbs/hr+ of RecTec pellets at 275 degrees, if the outdoor temps are 35 or below.   Same grill, same pellets, cooking at 225 degrees with 60 degree ambient temp uses less than 1lb/hr.
  • #20 by Woody on 24 Apr 2018