Pellet Fan

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Pellet Fan!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Canadian Pellets -  (Read 3388 times)

Canadian John

• Friends Want you to cook way to much.
  • HAPPY COOKING, Canadian John
Canadian Pellets -
« on: March 06, 2018, 01:27:50 PM »

As we know food grade pellets here are well over $1/LB + tax, 13 % in Ontario. That is costly, too costly for a lot of us.

I searched heating pellets and found some contained soft wood(s). I was after a 100% hardwood pellet made from new wood. Not containing pallets or construction debris etc..This has led me to following:

-"Gildale Farms", St. Marys, On.  Manufacture several grades of pellets. Only one being a premium hardwood blend..I have been using them for several years without incident. $5.50/40LBS... Wood is: oak, maple, cherry and walnut. Sawdust sourced from a  flooring manufacturer.  Specs:Ash, under 1%. Moisture, 5 to 7%. Btu 8,000/LB

-"Lauzon",Quebec. Has several brands. All the brands contain the same product..The brand variation is a marketing tool developed for retailers so they aren't competing selling the same brands. Some of their brands include: Cubex, Northern Max, Comfort Plus, and Elite. Elite is exclusive to Canadian Tire. The Lauzon brands are sold in the US as well. The wood that is sourced from its own hardwood flooring mill is; oak, hard maple, yellow birch and some beech and hickory. They have a vested interest in producing a high end pellet. $5.99 plus tax/40LBS..
 Exceptional specs: [ Invalid Attachment ] .

Both these pellet manufacturers are easily contacted and prompt to reply to the most demanding questions I have put forth.

A problem using heating pellets is sourcing. They are not generally stocked or sold when we need them = stock-up.