Pellet Fan

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Pellet Fan!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Offset vs. Vertical Smokers  (Read 1272 times)

slaga

• Digging the Pellet Smoke.
Offset vs. Vertical Smokers
« on: April 19, 2018, 09:19:37 AM »

I am going to preface with I have no experience with stick burners. I never used one. I have the patience but at this stage in my life I just do not have the time to babysit a smoker hours on end. That said I had a Traeger BBQ07E (Lil Tex) and a Yoder YS640. I just sold the Traeger and bought the Pit Boss 5 Series Vertical Smoker, mainly for the real estate to cook jerky. I have no experience with vertical smokers or what people generally cook in them.

By offset I mean the barrel type smokers like the Traeger Texas and the like. Are there any advantages to one or the other that is not obvious to the uneducated? The only obvious thing I can see is you can hang sausage in a vertical and there just isn't as much height in an offset smoker to do the same. Is there anything about either one that gives it an advantage cooking certain foods?
HTTR 2018 Pitboss Copperhead 5 2011 Yoder YS640 w/ Savannah Stoker Controller V4 2010 BBQ07E w/ Savannah Stoker V1 - SOLD

Bar-B-Lew

• Global Moderator
  • You don't Drink the Kool-aid anymore.
  • Schnecksville, PA
    • Bar-B-Lews Blog
Re: Offset vs. Vertical Smokers
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2018, 09:25:09 AM »

You could probably get more larger meats like turkeys in the vertical than you could in most horizontal pellet grills.
MAK 2*, Memphis Elite, Traeger XL, Blaz'n Grand Slam, Pit Boss Copperhead 5, Weber Genesis II 435 SS, Sizzle Q SQ180

Free Mr. Tony

• Friends Want you to cook way to much.
  • Fort Wayne, Indiana
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2018, 10:19:16 AM »