Pages:
Actions
  • #1 by pmillen on 06 Feb 2019
  • 1.  Name of product
    Buck Knives’ official name for this knife is 541 Open Season® Boning Knife Pro

2.  Purpose of the product
    Buck manufactures it as a boning knife.  I used it once to help a friend butcher and bone a hog.  It worked well as a boning knife, but I have limited experience at that work so I may not be the best judge.

I regularly use it as a trimming knife to trim fat from butts and briskets.  It’s also perfect for removing silver skin when trimming a beef tenderloin.  It quickly replaced the previously used Rapala fillet knife for that purpose.

3.  Pros and cons of product
    pros:  Excellent point for piercing
              Holds an edge well
              Blade resists micro-chipping better than many other hard steels
    cons:  It’s somewhat costly
              It’s extremely hard steel, making the edge difficult to re-grind

4.  Impressions and other thoughts on the product
    For the occasional user, knife balance is generally not important, but I have the sense that the Buck 541 is weighted toward the handle making it possible to “whip” the slender blade around when making intricate cuts.

For those users who are interested in steel formulae, the 541 blade is S35VN steel, a relatively new stainless-steel derived from S30V by adding niobium to the vanadium and chromium carbide forming elements.  The result is a less brittle steel that better resists edge chipping.