Pellet Fan

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Pellet Fan!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Rectec question  (Read 1041 times)

Nomamm

• Lurker
Rectec question
« on: December 30, 2018, 12:27:37 PM »

Newbie here, but a long time lurker. I have just about nailed down that I want a Rectec from everything I have read about the company.

Question regarding their stampede and bull and the way they vent. Is there a difference in heat and smoke because of the open vents on the stampede. Seems like holes across the back would allow more smoke and heat to evacuate faster then the single stack the bull has.

Any input is greatly appreciated, thank you in advance.

cookingjnj

• Thinkin about Renouncing Charcoal.
  • Branchburg, New Jersey
Re: Rectec question
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2018, 12:45:10 PM »

Hi Nomamm, glad to have you joining the party.  I have a RT 680 which is the older version of the Bull.  I have found my pit to be spot on from a temp perspective and puts out all the smoke I need for our taste.  I did not seal my door as some others have, and get some smoke seepage from the door, but that has not made a smoke difference on the food coming from the pit for me.  I personally have never cooked on a Stampede so others can chime in with better info than I can provide.  One thing to mention, there are other pit makers such as Memphis, who also do not have a stack but use vents built into the unit instead, and folks who have those cookers love them too.  Good luck with your choice.  There is no wrong choice, just the choice that is best for you and your needs. 

Canadian John

• Friends Want you to cook way to much.
  • HAPPY COOKING, Canadian John
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2018, 02:10:10 PM »