Pages:
Actions
  • #1 by Kristin Meredith on 19 Jul 2019
  •  [ Invalid Attachment ]

I guess you have to be a certain age in order to remember this event -- and just the sense of wonder and awe. The blast off, the orbiting, the landing, the walking on the moon -- just the whole thing.  I am not sure I have felt that same emotional in the 50 years sense.
  • #2 by yorkdude on 19 Jul 2019
  • It was an amazing accomplishment.
    Remember it quite well.
    Somewhere a few days ago I read a letter (that fortunately never had to be read) addressing the nation from Nixon, it is stirring to think about the necessity of such a letter. Thank God it wasn't necessary.
    It is hard to fathom how cutting edge that was especially given when it was done.
  • #3 by hughver on 19 Jul 2019
  • I'd left the Cape several months before that mission but for the three previous years I was an engineer working in the launch control center.
  • #4 by yorkdude on 19 Jul 2019
  • I'd left the Cape several months before that mission but for the three previous years I was an engineer working in the launch control center.
    Man that had to be neat, probably very little stress also. Kidding of course on the last part.
  • #5 by Kristin Meredith on 19 Jul 2019

What interesting things you must have been able to witness!!!
  • #6 by hughver on 19 Jul 2019
  • What interesting things you must have been able to witness!!!

Yes, but unfortunately, I was also there when the three astronauts died on the launch pad from a module fire.  :'(
  • #7 by LowSlowJoe on 26 Jul 2019