Pages:
Actions
  • #1 by canyonier on 12 Nov 2019
  • This year I plan to smoke two 15# whole turkeys.
    In the past I have been brining the birds in a solution containing a lot of tarragon.
    I have been doing this for several years and I am really proud of the results.
    This year I plan to go a different route: the Traeger Orange Brine and turkey rub kit.
    Haven't talked to anyone who has tried it, but it sounds appealing to me.
    After brining, here's what I have been doing;
    Set the pellet grill for 225 deg and let cook for 7 or 8 hours. That's all I do.
    What about you folks? Do you slow cook at around 225 or cook at a higher temp for a shorter time or perhaps a combination of both?

I have been thinking that maybe I should cook at the 225 deg but near the end of the cook turn up the temperature to, say, 350 def for the last few minutes in order to better crispin the skin.
    Glenn
  • #2 by Bentley on 12 Nov 2019
  • Tried and true wins in my book...Right...

I like to cook my turkey much like the oven, med high heat, I just use hardwood for the fuel source.  Simple 3% sugar and salt brine with a few herbs for 24 hours.  350° for about 4-5 hours, only difference is I now part the bird and cook parts, they can be removed when they are done.  I like breast at 160° and leggs at 200° IT, fork tender.  I cannot accomplish that with a whole bird, not without ruining one or the other.

This year I plan to smoke two 15# whole turkeys.
    In the past I have been brining the birds in a solution containing a lot of tarragon.
    I have been doing this for several years and I am really proud of the results.

• #3 by Brushpopper on 12 Nov 2019
  • If that has worked for you in the past it sounds like a good plan.  Never know about a new seasoning or cooking method until you try it.
  • #4 by rdsbucks on 12 Nov 2019
  • Bentley, do you separate them before or after you brine?
  • #5 by pmillen on 12 Nov 2019
  • Tried and true wins in my book...Right...