Pellet Fan

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Pellet Fan!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Davy Crockett phone app doesnt change food temp after food probe calibration  (Read 983 times)

mtgavin

• Lurker

Newbie here. Have a Davy Crocket since May 2017.  Mostly enjoy it but it isn't what I would call low maintenance.

I am trying to calibrate the Davy Crockett food probe on my Android smart phone.  There is a youtube video by Dr Smoke that I have been referring to that shows the process. It is at  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l6SdwLFBZ5U   The grill is powered on, but not burning pellets (heating up) during this calibration.

I am using the Grill Options button under Settings like the video shows, to enter calibration data.

My probe reads 30 degrees when it should read 32 degrees for freezing water, so I am entering the -2 data for freezing temp calibration. 

The problem is that setting the probe calibration data in the Grill Options "Food Probe Adjustment" doesnt seem to affect the phone reading for the food temperature.   

For example, with the probe sitting in icewater it stays at 30 degrees on the phone no matter what I do to the "Food Probe Adjustment" calibration setting. (And yes, I am hitting the "confirm" button after I enter the data.)  No matter what I do to the calibrartion data, the food probe reading on the phone will not change. I can make BIG (+20/-20) changes to the adjustments at freezing and at boiling points, and the phone temp reading simply does not change even after waiting a good minute for the GMS to recompute the new temp.

On the video linked above, see the time 3:28 to 4:21 for what I am trying with the phone. On the video his food temperature reading on his phone updates to a new adjusted value after he enters the calibration data for freezing water. My phone app is not doing that.