Pages:
Actions
  • #1 by Th3Batman86 on 10 Feb 2020
  • I got a new RecTec BFG back in December. Between weather and other things I have not had much time to play with it. I am working on changing that and hoping to provide more content here. Saturday was a reasonably nice day and the wife was busy (so she didn't have anything better for me to be doing) so I decided to play with my new grill. I did a heat test with a loaf of bread. I then stuck the four probes from my Maverick in there to see what that looked like. I connected it to my wifi and attempted to calibrate the probes. The following is my experience with all those things.

First, the bread test. I bought a .88 loaf of white bread to do this. I have never done this on a grill before but I thought this was being so big that it would be good to know. The BFG has three shelves. If all three shelves are in the space between them is pretty tight. I do not imagine I would use it like this often but it gave a good option for laying out all the bread. Below is what it looked like. I have not done photos on this site before so I hope it works.

• #2 by Th3Batman86 on 10 Feb 2020
  • The bread was placed on the grill when it was up to temp (250°). I thought this would be a good temp as most of my cooking would be in this range. I left the bread on for 15 minutes and came back out. After 15 minutes, no discernible change. (first photo)

I closed the lid and let it run another 30 minutes (second photo)

Still not much change although you can see the top middle is just starting to curl (not color) from the heat. Note, that just below that piece of bread is where the RTD is.
  • #3 by Th3Batman86 on 10 Feb 2020
  • After 45 minutes of no changes I cranked the temp up to 350 to see what would happen. I let it go another 30 minutes. First photo is just opening the lid, second photo is the bread flipped over.