Pages:
Actions
  • #1 by Hank D Thoreau on 26 Mar 2020
  • As a scientist I have always relied on thermometers to cook. I have a graveyard of old cooking thermometers including a number of wifi versions. It seems that the probes would get mixed up, the wifi would stop connecting, and on and on. The constant thermometer replacement ended when I started paying more for better equipment. It is the classic example of buy something good once, or buy something of lower quality and keep having to replace it.

I now have several ThermoWorks products and thought I would give you my take on them. They are all good, but each has their strength.

Thermapen MK4
    This is an indispensable tool. It is a quick and accurate instant read thermometer. I like the MK4 over the standard because it turns on when you pick it up and the image on the display rotates so that you can read it in any orientation. We have a standard version at my house which I bought as a gift. It works fine as well, but I think the auto start is worth the extra money. When things start going fast it is great to be able to just pick it up and have it go on.

Use: This works in all situations where you need an instant temperature read with a penetration thermometer. It only requires about 1/8 inch at the tip so you can measure just about anything you cook with it. My fish is a lot more consistent since I got it. I have learned the best temperature to remove the fish so it comes out nice and juicy every time.

ThermaQ Two Channel
    This is fairly pricey for a two channel thermometer. It was my next thermometer after buying the Thermapen. I have the standard non wifi version with a couple of penetration probes and a couple of ambient probes. It uses the industrial grade Type K Thermocouple probes which come in many configurations and are very accurate. It is also very rugged.