Pellet Fan

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Pellet Fan!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Shun knives  (Read 317 times)

Free Mr. Tony

• Friends Want you to cook way to much.
  • Fort Wayne, Indiana
Shun knives
« on: May 08, 2020, 04:10:47 PM »

I know alot of people swear by these, but I have grown to really dislike my Shun chefs knife. I didn't think it performed that well brand new, and after probably close to 2 years now (not sure how long) I think I'm going back to Wusthof.

I had a Wushtof chefs knife for over a decade that I loved. It had been honed by me regularly, and sharpened professionally several times. It was just time for a new knife, so I figured I'd switch it up.

The Shun just doesn't seem to stay sharp. I'm no expert by any measure at honing, but I manage to keep all my other knives fairly sharp without much issue.

The recent moment that I realized how much I disliked it was after purchasing a 5 inch Wusthof boning knife. This thing was a RAZOR out of the box, and just a joy to use. I understand a chefs knife and a boning knife are different, but it re-opened my eyes to what a knife should be.

I've never really heard anyone say a bad word about Shun. Anyone else have one they aren't really fond of?

pmillen

• Global Moderator
  • You are starting to smell like smoke.
  • This pistol is most fun for the buck
Re: Shun knives
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2020, 06:34:28 PM »

This post won't be any help to you, either.

Many of you know me as a knife geek.  I also hold knife opinions based on about 70 years of knife work.  Here's what I have to offer for the moment–