Pages:
Actions
  • #1 by Bentley on 21 Nov 2020
  • So we want to put a concrete slab next to the shed so we can put the split wood on it and be able to scrape up the logs with the bucket of the tractor and bring up to the house and dump without picking up dirt and such.  So that is the jist of the project. 

After the small pad for the Spa, I am comfortable doing the forms and working the concrete.  What I am not good at is figuring out how to screed areas that are larger then say 12 feet.  That is about the length of 2 x 6 I feel comfortable using to screed.   So I will ask a few questions and hope we have some Members that have worked with concrete slabs and can help me.  Cuz we all know I aint paying for something I think I can do!

As of now it looks like it will go at the back of the shed.  The Shed is 18' wide and I am gonna come out appx 20'.  So about 4 yards of concrete.  But a span that is longer then 12'.  Pretty sure the truck will be able to get right up next to the shed, so it will be very easy for him to swing the boom to either side, but I think that it still needs to be screeded?  Is it usually poured in sections to accomplish this?  Obviously the finish is not really going to be of importance, as stated, this is just to keep the wood off the ground and be easier for the tractor bucket to pick it up!