Pages:
Actions
  • #1 by jdmessner on 22 Nov 2020
  • As we start to get closer to Thanksgiving, it is all about the bird! I am always willing to try new methods and alternative cooking techniques to get the best results possible. Besides that, you never know when the grill might go out or the oven goes on the fritz, it never hurts to have a backup plan. Dryer Turkey, it may the best thing to happen to Thanksgiving since Turducken!! I hope you enjoy the video as much as I did.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eA22u6XQiIQ
  • #2 by 02ebz06 on 22 Nov 2020
  • That is just wrong in so many ways...  Hahahahahahahahahahaha
  • #3 by hughver on 22 Nov 2020
  • Unfortunately, I'm not on the hook for turkey this year, but if I were, I'd separate the breast from the legs/thighs, sous vide the breast at 145° and the legs/thighs at 160°, both for 5 hours. Dry, sear on an open flame source and use the liquid from the sous vide bag for gravy. I've never done this before, but I've read some glowing reviews about the process.
  • #4 by Kristin Meredith on 22 Nov 2020
  • The problem is, there are some out there who will think this is legit and will ruin their dryers!!!
  • #5 by jdmessner on 22 Nov 2020
  • The problem is, there are some out there who will think this is legit and will ruin their dryers!!!

My suggestion is to try this out at the laundromat for the first time (those dryers have probably seen just about everything else)!

I came across this while trying to verify a claim a friend made. She said her son cooked a turkey with a hair dryer. I don't think you could cook one, but as it turns out the hair dryer does have a legit function when it comes to prepping the turkey. It is supposed to dry it better than blotting it with paper towels and makes for extra crispy skin. I actually might try this! 
  • #6 by jdmessner on 23 Nov 2020