Pages:
Actions
  • #1 by 02ebz06 on 28 Nov 2020
  • Th1s cover is made by Back Yard Life.
    The make these for CampChef and Blackstone griddles, and have some other related accessories as well.

This one is for the CampChef FTG-600, that I have.
    Besides a cover, web site says it is a splatter shield as well.
    Just got it, so I have no experience with it's effectiveness as a splatter shield.

It is approximately 1/4" wider than the griddle front to back, and 3/4-1" wider left to right, so goes on easily.
    Just a single handle on the front, which I guess is OK if you are just lifting it and pushing it back to catch on the brackets (pic #2).
    Edges are sharp, so my preference would be two handles on top for ease/safety in removing/installing it.
    I will probably put two on top where the catch bracket screws are so I can make use of those screws and only have to drill two holes.
    Also thought about getting some of those car door protectors from a Car Parts store to put around the edge except near the griddle.

My first impression of it as a splatter shield, is that it "might" not be very effective.
    With it hanging off the back (pic #2) there is an inch or more gap between the underside of the lid, and back of griddle.
    Grease could hit it, run down, and drip on ground.
    However, the grease may cool enough and not run very far, so don't really know how well it would work.
    Definitely wouldn't protect splatter on the sides or front.

Unsure what the marks (pic #1) on the two back corners are. Was too cold yesterday to care.  ;D
    Will have to look at them another day.

PROS
    1) Fits well
    2) If you have a cloth/canvas/plastic or whatever kind of cover to go over entire griddle,
        it prevents that cover from sagging onto the griddle surface and getting grease on underside.
    3) Easy storage when griddle is used, just lift up and push to back to latch in place.

CONS