Pages:
Actions
  • #1 by ballantyne on 02 Dec 2020
  • Hello Pellet Fan! I come to you, hat in hand, as a newbie. I'm new to smokers and smoking, and am trying to learn as I go. If you're sick of greenhorns who have little experience to contribute dropping in to ask questions, please feel free to ignore me. :)

I'm looking for advice on a pellet grill purchase. I'll start by explaining why I even want a new smoker in the first place. It's a bit of a story. If you're the TL;DR type, the upshot is that I'm trying to decide between a Camp Chef Woodwind 36, a Pitts and Spitts Maverick 850, and a P&S 1250.

Anyway. About 2.5 years ago, I received a Camp Chef SmokePro DLX as a wedding present. It's been a reasonably solid unit. It has some limitations, but nothing that would warrant me looking to replace it.

Then, on the Sunday before Thanksgiving, we had a blustery day, and the wind blew my grill off the patio. It wound up upside-down in the rocks. It probably landed on its back, then rolled over onto its head, because the back of the grill where the chimney attaches was dented in.

Well, shoot. That was supposed to be our turkey cooker. So, I got out a hammer and a bit of scrap wood and pounded out the dent as best I could. Then I fired it up. It still worked! It's still dented, and still has a pretty big gap where the chimney attaches, but it smoked two turkey breasts just fine.

...mostly just fine, actually. When I cranked up the heat at the end of the cook to get a reverse sear, I noticed it didn't get as hot as it used to be able to do. And that's a problem, because while I have BBQ aspirations, I mostly use my pellet grill as a grill, not a smoker. I've so far not moved beyond turkeys and ribs. (Brisket is the next thing I want to learn. It's my favorite BBQ food by far.)