Pages:
Actions
  • #1 by Darwin on 03 Nov 2021
  • After nearly 25 years my washing machine gave up the ghost.  I replaced it and the dryer today,  no problems until I went to wash a load.  I actually had to read the quick start guide just to get it started.  I work in tech but I still wonder why doing laundry has gotten so sophisticated.   They even had Smart wi-fi Enabled units.  I also replaced the water heater and they also come in Smart wi-fi Enabled units.  Why?  It's all in the house and I don't need an app for any of them.  I really like my smart garage door opener and thermostat so I am not a luddite.  I'm all for improvements but some of it is just silly to me.   ::)
  • #2 by Bentley on 03 Nov 2021
  • This is the 1st home I have lived in where the water heaters are not easily accessible. In California, slab foundation homes, they are either in the garage, or in a small outside closet size room next to the bathrooms.  Not on a half basement/half crawl space home.  Under the house, where who knows what kind of Troll's or Orks live, I aint going underneath there.  So it would be great to have a water heater I can turn down in Summer and up in Winter on my phone, how Sweet would that be!
  • #3 by ylr on 03 Nov 2021
  • I'd say for 95% of people, it's marketing. Having said that, there are folks out there that like nothing else than to waste use their time trying to optimize every minute aspect of their life. Also having said that, I could see a situation where one could remotely crank up their water heater before they got home from work after it being off all day. I used to do the same to my water heater when I was poor and living in an apartment; flip on the breaker to the water heater when I got home, waited an hour, took a shower, and flipped the breaker off after I was done.
  • #4 by Brushpopper on 04 Nov 2021