Pages:
Actions
  • #1 by stickjiggler on 19 Nov 2021
  • The wife wants me to smoke a 8lb turkey breast for Thanksgiving on my Dave Crockett.
    I have been lurking and learning from you all for quite a while now but I'm fairly new to smoking. Only butts and chucks so far.
    Any advice on time, temp, brine, and pellets is greatly appreciated.
    We will also be making a whole turkey in the oven so all won't be lost if I'm a complete failure but I'm pretty confident with your help we can pull this off.

Thanks in advance and have a safe and happy Thanksgiving all.
  • #2 by Free Mr. Tony on 20 Nov 2021
  • Oil, salt, and pepper. Cook at 250 until internal is around 135. Put in a foil pan and add 6 tablespoons of butter over the top and cover with foil.  Cook until internal is 158 or so. Let it rest a bit. Slice and spoon the butter from the pan over the slices.

That's how I do mine.
  • #3 by Kristin Meredith on 20 Nov 2021
  • I would brine.  If you go to the recipe section we have a topic called "Rubs/Sauces/Brines".  Several brine recipes to choose from.  Chefpeppers posted one just for turkey, so just read and see which one sounds like a good one to you.
  • #4 by BigDave83 on 20 Nov 2021
  • Most seem to brine, I have never done that so maybe I need to try it.

Most store bought turkey is kind of already brined/pumped with a solution, that is probably why I have never tried.

I will sometimes inject with a mix of garlic butter, and some other seasoning. Depending on what you use you will get tracks.

I am assuming this will be a bone in breast, I would lave it uncovered in the fridge over night to dry the skin some. I would then rub with a mix of melted butter and olive oil with salt, pepper and what ever other seasonings you prefer.

I have a DC I know mine cooks a fair amount hotter than the temp setting, I never temped it so not sure how much. I would not cook over 160 internal a little less would be better as you will leave it rest some before slicing.