Pellet Fan

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Pellet Fan!

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Whole boneless ribeye  (Read 1878 times)

hokiepop

• Using less gas.
  • West Point, VA
Whole boneless ribeye
« on: October 02, 2017, 06:36:38 AM »

I am a newbie in the world of smoking and I am looking for ideas on how to cook a whole boneless ribeye for a family gathering next week-end.   The ribeye weighs 19 pounds so any suggestions for cooking temperatures, seasonings or flavor of pellets would be greatly appreciated.   My pellet grill is a Kuma Platinum SE and it does have a temperature probe. 

hokiepop

• Using less gas.
  • West Point, VA
Re: Whole boneless ribeye
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2017, 08:26:04 AM »

Wow!!!   So much information to help a beginner like myself.    I would never have thought of putting the probe down the top, great idea.   That is why I joined this forum, to learn from veteran pellet smokers like yourself.  Thanks for the great information.   I will let you know how this turns out.

mowin

• Starting to taste the Smoke.
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2017, 09:05:23 AM »

I do several every yr.  They come out fantastic and are always a hit.

I keep my rub simple.  Coarse salt, cracked black pepper,  onion and garlic powder. 
I smoke at 200*-225*. Average time to get to a IT of 132 is approximately 6hrs.

Smoking at these lower temps results in a PR that is even color from end to end. I do not place in a broiler to sear, but I you choose to, pull at a lower temp then your target temp as it will climb quickly in the broiler. 

I tent loosely for 10 min or so before slicing.

[ Invalid Attachment ]
 [ Invalid Attachment ]

hokiepop

• Using less gas.
  • West Point, VA
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2017, 09:37:39 AM »

That looks perfect!   I am still trying to figure how long to plan for the cook-the roast is almost 19 lbs.

Queball