Pellet Fan

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Pellet Fan!

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: Traeger Question - Why do many dislike them?  (Read 7767 times)

dshaffes

• Using less gas.
Traeger Question - Why do many dislike them?
« on: October 16, 2017, 11:30:58 PM »

I became a pellet owner this year and have a Traeger Pro 22.  I have a lot of experience using Kamado's (BGE), Kettles (Weber - all sizes), Stick Burners (Custom), Bullets (WSM), Cabinets (Humphrey's) and use them all frequently.  My Traeger has done nothing but reliably cook really great tasting food.  On average it holds consistent temps and puffs out sweet smelling smoke. 

Maybe I'm the exception, but I love cooking on it.  Let me know your thoughts.

Bentley

• Administrator
  • Your at the point in life...one pit is enough...
  • Mayberry
Re: Traeger Question - Why do many dislike them?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2017, 12:38:02 AM »

They were the only game in town for a long time, and also the Standard.  For me it was not a matter of dislike, I won two Grand Championships with mine.  They just got passed over in technology and performance.  They are starting to close that gap somewhat!
"‘One who puts on his armor should not boast like one who takes it off.’”

Quadman750

• Thinkin about Renouncing Charcoal.
  • North of the border
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2017, 06:01:37 AM »

My neighbor has a Traeger & I have a Memphis Elite. I cannot taste the difference in the food.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2017, 06:03:49 AM by Quadman750 »
Memphis Elite Memphis Pro Vision Kamodo Weber Performer Deluxe

Brushpopper

• "The road goes on forever...
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2017, 08:18:06 AM »