Pellet Fan

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Pellet Fan!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Pizza Crust  (Read 508 times)

Plant175

• Using less gas.
Pizza Crust
« on: May 27, 2019, 04:00:23 PM »

I’m new to pellet grilling and last night we threw a couple of pizzas on the grill but the crust was not as crispy as I thought they would get. We placed them on a stone which was preheated to 425 degrees . I did turn it up to 450 degrees after I see the crust was not getting crispy. What temp should I be at ?

Bentley

• Administrator
  • Your at the point in life...one pit is enough...
  • Mayberry
Re: Pizza Crust
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2019, 04:03:40 PM »

These are store bought?
"‘One who puts on his armor should not boast like one who takes it off.’”

bregent

• Thinkin about Renouncing Charcoal.
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2019, 04:09:53 PM »

The temp that you bake a pizza depends on the style you are making. For a thin crust NY style, I like to run around 550-575 and preheat the stone for at least 45 minutes. For thicker crusts and pizza with lots of toppings, bake at a lower temp.

Free Mr. Tony

• Friends Want you to cook way to much.
  • Fort Wayne, Indiana
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2019, 06:15:02 PM »

As bregent eluded to, the stone may have not been to temp depending on preheat time. If you have an Infrared thermometer, check the stone temp. I would highly recommend one if you don't have one.

If you have your temps evened out, you should be able to get a nice crust at that temp depending on the dough. It's all about balance. Ideally, you would want the air temp around the grill to be a little higher than the stone temp so that the top of the pizza cooks at the same rate as the bottom.

hughver

• Friends Want you to cook way to much.
  • University of Louisiana
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2019, 12:03:58 AM »