Pages:
Actions
  • #1 by triplebq on 22 Sep 2018
  • #2 by dk117 on 22 Sep 2018
  • I'm a business guy, economist, MBA actually.  This makes me sad.   A long series of mistakes by Joe Traeger in the business world.  I've got to respect the man for starting us all on this journey, but this is an incredible fall. 

DK
  • #3 by hughver on 22 Sep 2018
  • I'm just a dumb engineer but I suspect that he sold his business for a large profit and is capitalizing on his name recognition for even more gain.  :2cents:
  • #4 by dk117 on 22 Sep 2018
  • I suppose you've just reinforced my point.  You engineers are infinitely smarter than the business guys.   Yet like Joe Traeger, miss the nuances of the business world.   Why would he be working for Danson if he cashed out for a large profit?  Seems his family still needs an income.  (son too.)    For the guy that started this whole thing, it's an epic fall from grace. 

DK

PS I get your point that he's just name brand cashing in, but please accept mine, he blew it.   He missed a huge opportunity due to bad business decisions.  The market crushed him.
  • #5 by Kristin Meredith on 23 Sep 2018
  • I agree DK and he just sat on his pit without making improvements or upgrades because he had the patent and was the only game in town.  When the patent ran out, there were all sorts of folks waiting to jump in with much better pits with a lot of improvements.  And he still did nothing because he had such a big market share.  But it eventually all caught up with him.  A strange hire in my book -- if he was so innovative and could bring all these great ideas, then why not do it to his own company?
  • #6 by Canadian John on 23 Sep 2018

•  It will be interesting to see what develops from this relationship, and why.
  • #7 by ylr on 23 Sep 2018
  • Isn't Pit Boss just a warmed over Traeger? Sounds like a marketing ploy to confuse the masses...... ::)
  • #8 by BigDave83 on 23 Sep 2018