Pages:
Actions
  • #1 by reubenray on 16 Jun 2020
  • I looked at these today at Lowes's and I liked what I saw.  It was the Rider DLX model.  It was a third cheaper than the Weber Pellet Smoker.  The initial build felt better than the Weber.  I especially liked the height of it where I can put a rotisserie in it.  It also has more shelves that my GMG.

Hopefully there will be some reviews coming out about it.

• #2 by okie smokie on 16 Jun 2020
  • I have checked it over a couple of times.  You get a lot of bang for the buck.  I have no knowledge of performance. Will surf the net for some info.
  • #3 by okie smokie on 16 Jun 2020
  • #4 by reubenray on 17 Jun 2020
  • Thanks for the video.  I did not like the comment he made that he smokes on the upper grate being the bottom one gets to hot.  What is the purpose of having all of that space in a smoker and not use it.
  • #5 by Bentley on 17 Jun 2020
  • Yes, the difference between a "review" and some good old objective data testing!
  • #6 by BigDave83 on 17 Jun 2020
  • I was wondering how familiar he is with pellet cookers. The beginning didn't give me hope when he said you don't want to cook with old wet moldy pellets.
  • #7 by okie smokie on 17 Jun 2020
  • Thanks for the video.  I did not like the comment he made that he smokes on the upper grate being the bottom one gets to hot.  What is the purpose of having all of that space in a smoker and not use it.
    I get the impression that the bottom grate is being used for "grilling".  However, I agree with you. He should be able to adjust the pit to get the lower temps on the lower grates as well. i.e. be sure the drip pan is in the closed position etc. 
  • #8 by BigDave83 on 17 Jun 2020