Pellet Fan

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Pellet Fan!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Beans 2 ways we do'em.  (Read 681 times)

BigDave83

• Friends Want you to cook way to much.
  • South West PA
Beans 2 ways we do'em.
« on: September 23, 2020, 07:00:51 AM »

I am not a huge bean eater, I have gotten better with age as I remember growing up the only beans I would eat were in Campbells Vegetable soup, that was because I was to lazy to pick them out. Now a days I will make chili, and I used to make a huge cooker of beans for my customer appreciation days a work. They were the first thing gone usually, and I have found I really like fresh green or yellow beans. I am a simple cook as you will see.

For green beans I trim both end, why because that is the way my Mother did it, then I usually cut them in to smaller 1.5" pieces. I do sometimes leave them whole also. Since buying a larger Blackstone griddle I use it a lot of the time for meals or parts of meals. Chop some bacon and brown it off, remove to a pan, add the beans to the bacon juice and toss to coat cook for a few minutes until they are getting close to your doneness and add in some chopped onion.  A few minutes more and then put the bacon back in and finish up. For seasoning it is usually just SPG, as the folks I usually cook for have no taste for spices. I do sometimes sneak in Montreal Steak seasoning.  Pretty much it. Can just as easily be done in a skillet on the stove.

This method starts out as above cleaning and cutting or not cutting the beans. I put them in a mixing bowl and add some olive oil and some SPG, toss to coat. Put on a sheet pan and into the oven at 425° for probably 15 minutes? I never timed them sorry. Pretty much just roasting them, do them until they are the texture you are looking for.

Variations.