Pellet Fan

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Pellet Fan!

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Griddle on Louisiana Grills Founders Legacy 1200  (Read 1060 times)

Chris__M

• Digging the Pellet Smoke.
    • Food Adventure
Griddle on Louisiana Grills Founders Legacy 1200
« on: June 03, 2021, 10:10:30 AM »

My new mega grill comes with a main grate made up of 3 stainless steel grates. Not only does this make them easier to handle and lift in and out, but one of them can be swapped with a purpose-made cast-iron griddle.

Now I have never used such a beast as a griddle before, and the user manual says nothing about it, except in the parts list. So I did what I thought was the reasonable thing and emailed LG.

Except they seem to know very little about operating this grill, they could answer none of my questions, about this, or about the app that came with it. A bit of a brush-off, in fact.

So I thought I would see what folk here think. Even if you have never used this grill, you probably have a better idea on how to use it than I do, or even the folk at Louisiana grills. So feel free to chip in with opinions.

(I have searched for information or videos on how this is used, and have found very little; but I may have missed something. If anyone has any URLs, feel free).

When unpacking the grill, the griddle was in the left-hand position, over where the firebox is, and above the "open flame" louvres. So my questions were.

1. Should the griddle be operated with the open flame open, or closed?
2. If closed, would there be any issue with using the griddle on the right-hand position, allowing me to use the "open flame" for grilling?

Also what things would you use a griddle for? What comes to mind is breakfast things (eggs, hash browns, bacon) or stuff like onions (cooking directly on griddle) or sides (in a pot on the griddle).

Thanks in advance for any tips.