Pellet Fan

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Welcome to Pellet Fan!

Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Brisket ?  (Read 1857 times)

Flboy76

• Using less gas.
Brisket ?
« on: September 19, 2018, 12:49:00 PM »

Will be doing a 15# brisket (before trimming) this weekend, question do you remove the point before or after the cook?  Would you remove before wrapping ?  Plan on doing burnt ends, of course this is my first try at all of this! Thanks for any help.
Floyd Camp Chef DLX Webber Kettle

triplebq

• Friends Want you to cook way to much.
  • If you are looking you ain't cooking
Re: Brisket ?
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2018, 12:59:08 PM »

Honestly it is a personal decision. The best advice is to try both ways and see what you like. If I had to pick one I would say after the cook.
Orion Smoker Blaz'n Grid Iron Cookshack FEC-120 Cookshack Charbroiler CB036

bregent

• Thinkin about Renouncing Charcoal.
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2018, 01:29:30 PM »

When I plan to make burnt ends from the entire point, I separate before the cook so get more bark.

yorkdude

• Lake Elbo-Manhattan Kansas
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2018, 04:17:34 PM »

Honestly it is a personal decision. The best advice is to try both ways and see what you like. If I had to pick one I would say after the cook.
That is how I do it also, then cube etc. for the burnt ends.

egmont

• Using less gas.
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2018, 10:08:37 PM »

I've tried both ways and have decided I like separating prior to cooking. I take the point to a higher temp than the flat.
GMG Daniel Boone Weber Genesis E-330

Clonesmoker

• Digging the Pellet Smoke.
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2018, 10:18:40 AM »